time flies

And I realized all over again how fast time flies……………..

It was a routine party in the officer’s mess. I entered the mess and made myself comfortable next to an officer’s wife and her four-month-old daughter.
The baby was as sweet as ever–smiling, pulling on her bib, looking around the room with wide eyes. When she started to get a little restless, I offered to take her and walk her around so the mom could relax and listen to the guest speaker. It had been a while since I’d held a little one like that. I’d forgotten how tiny hands and feet can be. And I realized all over again how fast time flies…It seems like just yesterday my fifteen-year-old was a baby too. I remember marveling at each new thing he did–his first smiles, the first words, his first steps. I remember the nights I’d rock him to sleep, singing and praying, with tears in my eyes from the gratefulness I felt. I remember feeling scared, hoping I’d be a good mother. There were questions and uncertainties and “the ifs” that I worried about. There were temper tantrums and sleepless nights and days I thought I’d never get a minute to myself. When you have kids, everyone always tells you to enjoy each moment because time flies. And even though it sounds cliché’, the more time that passes, the more I realize it’s true. Life is not a perfect plan where everything happens as desired. When we become parents, we realize that life is much more than a well-set schedule. We must give up the illusion of total control to understand that living one day at a time may be exciting and fulfilling enough. Embracing parenthood is to understand that when love becomes life, we’ll never again be the same, and we’ll never again think of ourselves as individuals first. Your child always becomes the first priority of your life! your life becomes a pleasurable fulfillment with all the wonderful joys derived from parenting!

I had my moments of feeling frustrated or overwhelmed by the responsibilities of motherhood, the exhaustion from a toddler constantly tugging at my legs!
Kids grow up, and their demands change, but so do the golden heart filling moments of holding them in your arms and rocking them to sleep, of seeing them take their first steps, of hearing them say, “Mama” for the first time.

Time flies very fast. I remember a day, a few months back when the only channels we watched were cartoon network, Disney and all kids channels. then as my son grew up he stopped watching these and he indulged in to national geographic, history channel, discovery science etc and so these are the officially accepted channels of me and my husband too! Our lives revolve so much around his routine his likes and dislikes, that his likes are our likes and dislikes are ours too! Our timetable and routine is full of the things he has to do! Now I rely on to him for advice and help, when it comes to the computers or dealing things which need logic and analysis, solving crucial matters etc. Whenever I look at his face when he is asleep I remember all the beautiful days gone, his innocent mischief and all the lovely chatter! Things have changed a bit, he doesn’t run behind me hugging and clinging to me, but I know he is my same little boy who still looks towards me with the same innocent eyes with fright on stormy nights, growls and turns into an angry bird when hungry! I don’t think I can love anything more than I love my little boy!
My heart tore just a little a few days back, as I pulled out clothes that were too small and gathered up some special shirts I wanted to save as memories. I look forward to what the future will produce, but if I could go back in time to when he was small I think I would like the opportunity, at least for a little while.
I make it a point now a days to grab an opportunity of hugging my tall boy making the most of the time with him, cherish those miraculously healing moments. Time always seems to move faster than we want it to, especially when it comes to our kids. I remember his kindergarten days, the middle school and now the last stage of high school. All these days went past my eyes so quickly! I think I didn’t make enough of his childhood, with my job and responsibilities I couldn’t enjoy all the moments to the fullest! So I have decided to never pass up a chance to snuggle with my son, read a book, make a discovery in the yard or just watch the clouds roll by after rain showers. And savor every moment as I know time is once again going to fly…….

My little boy……
“No amount of gold could ever compare to the gift of love that my son shares.
I always knew that all the love I’ve wanted is right here in front of me.
He gives me reason to get through another day.
Maybe it’s how he loves me in his special little way.
And when it gets hard for me to sleep at night….
He wraps his little arms around me and says God will make things right!
From sweet gentle touches to his bear hugs and a kiss…
He makes this hell on earth seem more like a peaceful bliss.
That great big kool-aid smile and the twinkle in his eyes….
Every time I look at him it makes me want to cry.
But they’re not tears of sorrow; they’re tears of pride and joy….
To know that all the love in heaven is wrapped around my little boy”

One thought on “time flies

  1. Pingback: time flies – mrudulakulkarni

Leave a Reply

